Venice Dress

Today, I get to share the Venice Dress by New Horizons Designs. The Venice is a great pattern for drapey wovens – you can also use lightweight knits. I just love the drape of this beautiful challis I chose.

venice dress (2)

The pattern comes in a wide range of sizes: 00 – 26. It features a low neckline, romantic split sleeves, and a flowy hemline. My current version is a size 8 mini and fits true to size. My dress was made with a really nice challis that I picked up at my local JoAnn’s. This is a wonderful pattern for a quick and stylish date-night dress.

venice dress4 (2)

It also features a low back and an optional back strap which I highly recommend for this dress. Without it, my dress was falling off my shoulders. The high-low skirt is also a plus.

venice dress3 (2)

Each pattern piece is clearly marked with a grain-line, so cutting the pieces is a breeze. The front has darts and there are instructions on how to remove the dart from the pattern piece if you’d rather not have them. I sewed mine with the darts.

The best part for me was the split long sleeves. I mean, how does it get any better than this?

venice dress2 (2)This dress went together easily even with the split sleeves and the elastic casing for each wrist. It probably took about 5 hours to fully construct. I feel ironing is really important to making a finished garment look well so take that into account. And this was actually my first time making the Venice, so I think it came out beautiful!

venice dress5

The pattern directions are very clear and well written, as I have come to expect from New Horizons Designs. She includes fabric requirement charts, a chart for what pages to print for each option, pattern layout graphics, and detailed instructions with pictures for every step.
With summer fast approaching, I feel I can put this dress to good use in any environment, including the office. Even a simple up-do can really make this dress perfect for dinner with the hubby.

Venice dress2

I’m glad I took the chance on visiting this pattern. It is well done, easy to make, and really cute on. Now, I need to make a couple more for the summer. This time I might go sleeveless.

Until next time, happy sewing!

Carmen

2 thoughts on “Venice Dress

Leave a Reply

