New Horizons Designs – Girls’ Lisse Hoodie

New Horizons Designs’  Girls’ Lisse Cowl and Hoodie has long been a favorite of mine since its release sometime ago, and when I had the opportunity to make one up for my youngest’s birthday, I jumped on the chance.

lissecowl-promo3

The pattern has a rather large size range of 6-12 months to 16. Options include regular or thumb hole cuffs, overlap hood or cowl. Suggested fabrics are french terry, sweatshirt fleece, and most other medium to heavy weight knits with 35% stretch. Instructions for adding drawstrings are also included in the pattern, but I didn’t add one to hers because I neglected to get a hammer for the eyelets. (Don’t forget the featherweight fusible interfacing.)

The pdf pattern offers 24 no trim pages and layers for printing specific sizes to meet your needs. The instructions are clear and easy to follow with plenty of colorful pictures to help along the way. I especially like the instructions for the thumb hole cuffs because I would not have been able to figure them out otherwise.

I wanted something special and functional for my daughter’s birthday, so I made her Lisse out of a sparkling-pink-crushed panne I purchased from my local Jo-Ann Fabrics and Crafts for a very reasonable $2.50/yard. (I don’t go anywhere without coupons.)

I fully lined her hood with 2 additional pieces instead of leaving it with the seams showing.

I styled her hoodie with sparkling silver leggings and a pair of boots to complete the look. She adores her new hoodie and had a spectacular birthday party with family on her special day.

Leave a Reply

